

BOROUGH OF NORTH PLAINFIELD

Department of Fire Prevention and Protection 8 Lincoln Place, North Plainfield, NJ 07060 908 769-2935 – Fax: 908 769-2943



TORCH, FLAME OR OPEN FLAME PRODUCING DEVICE PERMIT APPLICATION

Pursuant to the New Jersey Uniform Fire Code N.J.A.C. 5:70-2.7(a)3.ii., v., or viii., a permit shall be obtained from the Fire Official for any use of a torch or open flame producing device.

Amount Due: \$54.00			Type 1 Permit T10P	
Torch, Flame or Open Flame	: Located at:			
Type of Equipment:				
Location of Equipment:				
Name of Company Doing Work	:	Date of Wor	k/Event:	
Address:				
Phone:	Email:			
Contact Name:				
Signature of Applicant:			Date:	
O NOT DETACH . Deturn Consolet		la fact factoristics. Dan	mit shall be validated and returne	
·				
	For Departmen	<u>-</u>		
Application Approved By:	Date:		Business ID:	
~THIS PERM	IIT MUST BE ON SITE	AND AVAILABLE F	OR REVIEW~	
Issue Date #:		H PLAINFIELD		
Maint	aining a Torch, Flame or	Flame Producing Dev	rice	
Pursuant to the New Jersey for the purpose of operating		•	_	
Failure to comply with all ap revocation of this permit at place of any other permit, li Any change in ownership or a new permit.	any time during the effections or certificate of oc	ctive period listed. T cupancy required by	his permit does not take the law, and is not transferable.	
Inspected By:	Time:			
Permit Issued By:				
Effective:	Expires:	(Not Valid Unless Signed)		

NJ UNIFORM FIRE CODE: COOKING VENDOR GUIDELINES

The following are minimum guidelines for each cooking vendor at festivals, carnivals, etc.

A site plan may be required by the Fire Official prior to event.

FIRE SAFEY PERMIT: Cooking vendor permits – a permit application shall be submitted through RIMS Online for each vendor for every event. N.J.A.C. 5:70-2.7(a); All cooking vendors shall be required to apply for a fire safety permit. All permits shall be made available to the fire official upon inspection.

N.J.A.C. 5:70-2.9(c)1; 1E05/1L12 Type Permit Fee \$42.00 will be accepted-vendors shall apply and pay the permit fee using the application available online at www.northplainfieldnj.gov. Permits will not be issued unless payment is made in full. This is an application processing fee and is not refundable.

N.J.A.C. 5:70-2.7(f); The fire official upon inspection may deny or revoke a permit at any time; this can be due to failure to meet the permit conditions, unabated fire code violations or unsafe conditions.

FIRE EXTINGUISHER: All cooking vendors shall supply their own fire extinguishers. N.J.A.C. 5:70-3, 906.2; All fire extinguishers shall comply with NFPA 10/2013. All fire extinguishers shall have a valid dated inspection tag, good of one year.

N.J.A.C. 5:70-3, 906.4; Fire extinguishers provided for the protection of cooking grease fires shall be compatible with the automatic fire-extinguishing system agent.

PROPANE TANK:

N.J.A.C. 5:70-3, 5303.5.3; Propane tanks shall be secured, to prevent falling over.

N.J.A.C. 5:70-3, 6103.1; Propane tanks and equipment shall comply with NFPA 58/2014.

N.J.A.C. 5:70-3, 6103.2.1; Propane tanks shall not be taken into buildings/tents, (see 2006-1 for exceptions)

Mobile Canteens & Cooking Trailers:

N.J.A.C. 5:70-4.7(g) All cooking operations that produce grease laden vapors shall be equipped with a ventilating hood, duct, and automatic fire suppression system.

N.J.A.C. 5:70-4.7(g) 3. Systems installed in mobile enclosed units shall comply with the applicable requirements of NFPA 96-2014, but not required to comply with the New Jersey Uniform Construction Code.

N.J.A.C. 5:70-3, 904.5; Wet chemical extinguishing systems shall be maintained and inspected semi-annually as per NFPA 17A/2013.

N.J.A.C. 5:70-3, 609.3.3; Excessive grease and residue buildup on kitchen exhaust systems, cleaning required.

MISCELLANEOUS:

N.J.A.C. 5:70-3, 104.3; All appliances shall be listed and labeled and approved by the fire code official. (No homemade appliances).

N.J.A.C. 5:70-3, 3103.8.2; No vehicles shall be parked within 5 feet of tents or canopies.

N.J.A.C. 5:70-3, 3104.15.3; Suitable barricades shall be provided to maintain a distance of 5 feet between the heat producing appliance and the public.

- Propane tanks between 4 and 40 lbs shall have an Overfill Protection Device for filling in NJ. Propane tanks shall be hydro tested every 12 years, and not dented or badly rusted.
- Regulator shall be in good condition and the relief valve shall face away from the public areas.
- All plastic type protective caps shall be removed from all propane tanks before operating.
- Hoses shall not be frayed or cracked, and there shall not be any type of tape on the hose.
- Hoses shall not be covered with grease and shall not be swollen.
- Hoses shall not create a tripping hazard
- Only approved lighter fluid shall be used for charcoal grills.
- Sterno warmers may be used provided the fuel containers are properly protected from being knocked over and if the fuel containers are properly enclosed within the warmer units.

NJ UNIFORM FIRE CODE: TENTS/CANOPIES

N.J.A.C. 5:70-2.7(a); All vendors with tents/canopies meeting the below, shall be required to apply for a Type 1015 fire safety permit for each vendor for every event.

All permits shall be made available to the fire official upon inspection.

- All tents/canopies greater than 900 square feet with or without side panels will require a separate permit for each. (up to 16800 square feet & 140 feet in any dimension)
- All tents/canopies greater than 30 feet in any dimension will require a separate permit for each. (up to 140 feet)
- All tents/canopies that will remain in place for fewer than 180 days.
- All tents/canopies that are used or occupied between April 1 and November 30.
- All tents/canopies that do not have a permanent anchoring system or foundation.
- All tents/canopies that contain platforms and bleachers up to 11 feet in height.

N.J.A.C. 5:70-2.9(c)1; 1015 Type Permit Fee \$54.00 vendors shall apply and pay the permit fee using the application available online at www.northplainfieldnj.gov. Permits will not be issued unless payment is made in full. This is an application processing fee and is not refundable.

N.J.A.C. 5:70-2.7(f); The fire official upon inspection may deny or revoke a permit at any time; this can be due to failure to meet the permit conditions, unabated fire code violations or unsafe conditions.

N.J.A.C. 5:70-3, 3104.12; Fire extinguishers - at least one portable fire extinguisher with a minimum 4-A rating, or two portable fire extinguishers with a minimum 2-A rating each, shall be provided in/under all tents as required by section 906.

N.J.A.C. 5:70-3, 3104.2; Tents/canopies shall be constructed of fire retardant materials or be properly treated as per NFPA 701/2010. Proper documentation shall be provided by the vendor upon inspection.

N.J.A.C. 5:70-3, 3104.2; Combustible materials and excessive trash shall not be located within any tent or canopy (min. 20 feet clearance).

N.J.A.C. 5:70-3, 3104.6; Smoking shall not be permitted in tents. "NO SMOKING" signs shall be conspicuously posted in accordance with Section 310.

N.J.A.C. 5:70-3, 3104.7; Exposed flames: Gasoline, gas, charcoal or other cooking device or any other unapproved open flame shall not be permitted inside or located within 20 feet of the tent or canopy.

- NO cooking under tents.
- NO deep fryers shall be under tents.
- NO cooking with grease laden vapors under tents.
- Note: See Bulletin 2006-1 for further information and exceptions.

N.J.A.C. 5:70-3, 3103.12.6; Exit signs are required when the exit serves and occupant load of 50 or more.

N.J.A.C. 5:70-3, 3103.12.6.1; Exit signs shall be illuminated. 1. For occupant loads of 300 or less; or 2. An approved emergency system, for occupant loads greater than 300.

N.J.A.C. 5:70-3, 3103.12.7; Means of egress shall be illuminated from a separate circuit or source of power. (Not less than 1 foot candle (11lux) at floor level)

N.J.A.C. 5:70-3, 3103.12.8; Means of egress, width of exits, aisles and passageways shall be maintained at all times.

- Interior finish, decorative materials and furnishings shall comply with Chapter 8.
- Occupant Load and Number of Exits shall be approved by the Fire Official.

NJ UCC TENT PERMIT REQUIRED: Larger than 16800 square feet in size, greater than 140 feet in any dimension, bleachers or platforms higher than 11 feet, up for more than 180 days and used between December 1 and March 31 or having a permanent anchoring system or foundation.